Defining a Matrix Category (with possible errors…)

Let \text{V} be the category for matrices such that \text{Obj}(\text{V})=\mathbb{N}, and \text{Hom}_\text{V}(m,n)=\{m \times n \ \text{matrices} \ : \forall{n},m\in\mathbb{N}\}. We can define a composition function \circ_\text{V} using knowledge of matrix multiplication:

\circ_\text{V}:\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_a,n_b)\times\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_c,n_d)\to\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_a,n_d)

where a, b, c, d \in\mathbb{N}.

Now let f:\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_1,n_1,), g:\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_2,n_2), and h:\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_3,n_3) in that f, g, h \in \text{Obj}(\text{V}). From the composition of n\times m matrices, we can now imply that the category is associative:

(f\circ_\text{V}g)\circ_\text{V}h=

[\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_1,n_1)\circ_\text{V}\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_2,n_2)]\circ_\text{V}\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_3,n_3)=

\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_1,n_2)\circ_\text{V}\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_3,n_3)=

\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_1,n_3)=

\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_1,n_1)\circ_\text{V}\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_2,n_3)=

\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_1,n_1)\circ_\text{V}[\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_2,n_2)\circ_\text{V}\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m_3,n_3)]=

f\circ_\text{V}(g\circ_\text{V}h).

Here is the communative diagram for the associativity:  

  

Therefore we may show that the identity where \text{I}_m=\text{Hom}_\text{V}(m,m) and \text{I}_n=\text{Hom}_\text{V}(n,n):

\text{I}_mf=f\text{I}_n=f.

\therefore We have defined a category of matrices. (hopefully…)

Note: Please let me know of any errors I have made as I want to be able to correct them as I learn the concepts.

2 thoughts on “Defining a Matrix Category (with possible errors…)

  1. isospectral

    Just write $\hom(a,b)\times\hom(b,c)\to\hom(a,c)$ to keep things simple – there’s no need to use subscripts with three things. Note that I repeated the letter $b$ twice, instead of writing four letters $a,b,c,d$. In order to compose to morphisms, the codomain of the one must be the domain of the other. A similar thing must be said for your commutative diagram and all the different natural numbers you use. What does $f:\hom$ mean by the way? Why did you replace the letters $f,g,h$ with $\hom$-sets in your symbolic derivation? That makes no sense at all to me. If you had just said there is a category whose objects were natural numbers and whose hom-sets $\hom(m,n)$ were $m\times n$ matrices over a field $F$, because matrix multiplication is associative and the identity matrix acts as the identity, that single sentence would have been enough for me to express everything you intend to express here.

    Like

    • Julian Rachman

      Ah. I see. I believe that I just made it a whole lot harder for myself by writing everything out and assigning separate letters of make everything even more complicated. $f:\Hom$ is just a morphism that I defined to “make things easier for the reader.” But I guess not. The symbolic derivation you mean in the communative diagram? I was just showing associativity. Or am I referring to something different than to what you are thinking of? I understand the rest of what you said. I just need to learn how to simplify my explanations and not make it more complicated than it already is.

      Like

Leave a Reply

